Looking for answers to life's questions

I’ve been in retreat for the last couple of weeks. Sometimes one just needs time for reflection. My routine for health was getting more sporadic and I needed to figure a way to get back on track. If all I had to look forward to the first thing in the morning was exercise, I didn’t want to get up. Since that wasn’t working I gave myself permission to change it. Now I get up, have one cup of my watered down coffee, write in my journal, then I do my exercise. It’s so much better that way and it has led to enough weight loss, I am now finally below what my driver’s license says. Imagine that!

I need pockets on everything.

I need pockets on everything.

It needed a butterfly on the back left shoulder. I don't do tatoo's so this has to do

It needed a butterfly on the back left shoulder. I don’t do tatoo’s so this has to do

I have been busy doing practical things as well. The work goes a little slower these days but that no longer matters. Enjoying the challenge of solving a puzzle (sewing pattern) is good exercise for the brain. I have made four of these big shirts so far. The last one I made more than four years ago. One of the shirts is so large, it’s still in storage somewhere and I made one for a friend for Christmas several years before the Bells struck. They are supposed to be big, hence the name “Big Shirt” to go over something else. I like the layered look and with these, I can be a bit funky.

The back of the flannel shirt. I can't take a picture of myself in it.

The back of the flannel shirt. I can’t take a picture of myself in it.

I also embroidered a t-shirt that has been in the top of the closet for over 2 years waiting. There’s a stack of them I bought wholesale to make gift shirts. Just one peach shirt in the bunch and it needed a butterfly on it.

Peach t-shirt for underneath

Peach t-shirt for underneath

it became a butterfly

it became a butterfly

So as I continue on my journey searching for the missing pieces of my soul, I will do my meditation at the sewing machine. My next project is a small quilt for a friends rescue dog they just brought home. She is a 12 year old terrier that is blind in one eye. Cloe cuddled right next to me when I went to visit. I’m hoping to have the blanket done before going back. In between, my daughter is working on making a blouse for herself while I pass on my vast (?) knowledge to her. She is enjoying my souped up machine and the fact someone is there to let her know that she is indeed doing a good job.

It’s the little bit of forward movement that seems to be most encouraging. Being task oriented is a hard habit to give up. It’s how I measure my myself. Not very Zen of me but I take my Zen where I can get it. Like not needing things to be absolutely perfect. I’m glad you can’t see my sewing close up.

How do you measure progress or do you even need to do that to yourself?

Progress is impossible without change, and those who cannot change their minds cannot change anything. ~
George Bernard Shaw

From my heart to yours,
Marlene Herself

Comments on: "In Search of a Little Progress" (10)

  1. Marlene, you and your friend are sweet souls to adopt and care for a special needs furbaby. Please show us the finished blanket – preferably wrapped around Cloe! How I envy your skill with a needle and thread!
    Progress is in some way being a better person today than you were yesterday. Sometimes that can be measured in tangible results, and sometimes only in philosophical ones. Both carry equal weight 😉

    Spashionista (Alicia)

    Like

    • Thanks Alicia. I’m just making the blanket and visiting when I can. An animal is out of the question for me now but maybe later. I will post pictures of both the dog and blanket when complete. Hopefully by this weekend. Progress seems slow when I’m working in all areas at once. But getting there. Thaks for reading.

      Like

  2. What beautiful clothes you are able to craft Marlene, that’s starting to be a lost art. While it might seem minor to you, you should know that the vast majority of younger gals now might not even own a basic sewing machine. That always surprises me, but there are so many distractions for young girls not to mention their careers, most haven’t time to sew. That machine of yours is pretty awesome. It’s so nice you can share it with your daughter too. Keep going, baby steps add up!

    Like

    • Thank you so much. I’m a little short for my width so buying ready made is always a challenge and I rarely like what I see the last few years. Most clothing is not well made so I can make what I like, in the colors I like and be as creative as my mind allows. My mom was a fabulous seamstress but would not teach me. l learned from my wonderful books. I’m just delighted my daughter even wants to learn. She is having trouble with finding ready to wear that looks nice as well. I do really appreciate my machine. It makes the job so much easier. Thanks for reading.

      Like

  3. Lovely thoughts, Marlene. I especially liked the phrase, “Searching for the missing parts of my soul.” Aren’t we all? Thanks ~ Missy

    Like

    • Soul retrieval is something usually Shamam do but with diligence, I’m finding the parts of myself that shut down or were never allowed to develope on my own. I think it will be the key to restoring my health. So many of us have to go on this journey alone and it’s a shame. That’s why I blog, hoping for company on the search. Many are not even aware of anything missing. Thanks for reading.

      Like

  4. I love sewing and agree, it is a lost art. I’m so glad you’re spending time at the machine, and teaching/helping your daughter as well.

    Like

    • Thank you. I’m glad I finally can sew more. I’m delighted my daughter is asking for my help. I wish my mom would have taught me. I got it all from books. Bless those books. I would love to teach sewing to anyone willing to learn.There is so little interest these days.

      Like

      • I’ve been surprised to see so many sewing blogs. There does seem to be a movement afoot as well to refashion items from thrift stores. Not like it used to be, but at least some interest.

        You are lucky that you could learn from a book. Not everyone can do that. I started sewing by hand at age 6, then learned to use a machine in middle school. In college I learned to sew or ‘build’ costumes, and later worked as a stitcher for San Jose Rep. Good times.

        Like

  5. eyeclic said:

    That butterfly t-shirt is beautiful! So is your desire to give to others.

    Like

RIGHT FROM YOUR HEART

