Looking for answers to life's questions

I am really in the sewing room this morning working on a shirt. There is just an illusion of me clacking away here at the keyboard. Wouldn’t it be nice to be in 2 or 3 places at once? I needed to write and couldn’t move until I did. Has this ever happened to you?

Finally finished and hanging in the hall.

Thursday is Knit Wit’s Day and all of us older women will gather at a table with our handwork and very loud chatter. Most of us are at some level of hearing impairment. The harder hearing one is, the louder the conversation gets.

Jan’s daughter and a knit witter holding it up

There is one that has excellent hearing and no voice range so I’m trying to watch for signs that this sweet woman wants to speak. She has a lot to say at 94 but a stroke a few years ago made that process very slow. It’s worth the wait, always. She received a scholarship to college in the 1950’s to become a physical education teacher and that’s what she did her whole career. She also raised four wonderful children, one of which brings her weekly to our group, teaches pottery at our community college and is an artist.

Jan learned to quilt at 79! She brings her knitting and embroidery to the group and occasionally, we do a show and tell as each of us women of mature years completes something.

The smallest, quietest one of the bunch. Always a smile.

Last week Jan brought in the quilt she made with a friend in her quilt group. I had been asked to make a label for that quilt the week before. What an honor for me.

Machine embroidered Krazi House Shuffle

To see a woman of 94, continue to be creative and not focus on what’s not working in her body keeps me inspired to push on. I hope each of us finds someone around that keeps moving us forward.

I also follow a blog that has taught me that you can’t begin too early bringing music and art into life. Jennie, at A Teachers Reflection, has taught preschoolers for 30 years.  She unleashes her students artistic abilities with great encouragement. There is none of the “you must color inside of the lines” in her classroom. She may have many artists and musicians in her Aqua Room that may one day make quilts at 94 or more. Her methods of teaching even inspire anyone that drops by her site or classroom. Several years ago, she brought in master quilter, Milly to bring the children’s art to life in a quilt. I wish I had been in her class.

Now a permanent display at the National Liberty Museum in Philadelphia

My knitting/quilting friend, Jan raised her children to be artists too. Her daughter that brings her to us teaches pottery at our community college. When I start to think that I’m just getting too old for this, I think of Jan,  Jennie and Milly and  continue to plod on.

Do you think creativity has an age limit or what keeps you inspired when you want to give up?

 “The worst enemy to creativity is self-doubt.” Sylvia Plath

From my heart to yours,

Marlene Herself

 

Comments on: "Age and creativity" (70)

  1. What an inspiring post, and I thank you for it. Here’s to creative expression at any age, regardless of the form it takes! There is room for all.

    Liked by 2 people

    • I’m impressed by the creativity that comes at both ends of life. Jennie brings it out of toddlers which leads them to become lifetime creators rather than going most of a lifetime without expressing creativity. Jan brings her knitting needles to our group but has another group with which she quilts. I didn’t even know such things were possible until after I had children and needed to make clothing for them. I didn’t even realize it was being creative. 🙂 Never too old to learn something new. I’m delighted you enjoyed this. Thank you for stopping by.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I see no reason for anyone to stop being creative in whatever way they can until they simply find they can’t anymore. Even then, there are outlets for creativity so why be limiting with yourself. I think of someone who perhaps always wanted to write a memoir but now their body doesn’t cooperate to sit or hold a pen to paper or to hover over a keyboard. Record your voice telling your stories- what a gift to give those you love when you are gone- the joy of your words and your voice.

    With a little ingenuity great things can be accomplished. Age and creativity has no limits and your group clearly shows that Marlene. Even when the day comes that everyone is screaming at each other, or sitting silent by consensus, it is the being together that matters.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m in full agreement with you, Deb. Some of us give up way too early. One of our members has never done anything creative and we are challenging her at 86 to step up and play with us. She learns very quickly so we keep pushing her envelope a little further. On the other end, you have the little toddlers that most wouldn’t think could express creativity or understand that. You challenge your granddaughters and that expands them. I am always impressed by so many that never let things stand in their way. Thanks for the visit, Deb.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. What beautiful pieces!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Hi Marlene! I think creativity is like water. It always seeks a way through. We have to channel and guide it.
    Your groups sounds like fun; a great way to socialize, and celebrate some really impressive creative efforts.

    Like

    • Thank you so much, Lou. I wonder if men do anything similar. As an artist, do you find it helpful to work with others to keep you motivated and your skills sharp. I learn something every time I meet with these women. I think we encourage each other not to plop in front of the boob tube all day. The way Jennie encourages children to go out on a limb and give everything a try is so heartwarming for me.

      Like

  5. What a wonderful post, Marlene. Age should never prevent you from doing what brings you joy. The quilts are incredible! Thanks for sharing.

    Like

    • Thank you so much, Jill. Sometimes as we age, our abilities waver a bit. I’ve observed several older friends learning to accept less than perfect which makes them more productive. I think I’m falling into that category now. I hope you never stop writing your wonderful books as the years go by.

      Like

  6. Creativity comes for me in bursts, as much as I try to make it a daily activity. It doesn’t work if I push it, but pushed to be completed daily or weekly, I tend to be more productive. In terms of drawing, craft or even writing, forcing it means I have to toss one-third of it away, but the remaining two-thirds is useful. I don’t think creativity has an upper age limit as evidenced by the wonderful work displayed here. What might die is the motivation. If a craft is functional, it has even more value, no matter the age at which it is produced.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I agree with you, Amanda. You can’t force creativity. You have to be ready for the inspiration to come to you and in a good place to implement it. I also believe starting young is a good thing if it’s possible. Wish I had. It’s harder when life is so full of other things. I have many things planned but I have to wait until I know I’m in the right frame of mind or, like you said, things will go awry and will have to be tossed.. Waiting pays off each time. Thanks for stopping by.

      Like

  7. Sweet, creative pieces! Impressive! 😊

    Like

  8. Totally delightful. No, there’s no age limit while the juices still flow. Go girls, I say!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Aspen Liggett said:

    I get the self doubt thing. 

    Sent from my iPhone

    <

    div dir=”ltr”>

    <

    blockquote type=”cite”>

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Such an inspiring post, Marlene! I may have mentioned I taught myself to quilt last summer about the same time I turned 72. Although a lifelong sewer I felt I was kind of late into the game of a quilting and it is encouraging to hear others doing it also! I agree to pursuing something that keeps us occupied as well as satisfied! Life is a journey and we should be enjoying it.

    Liked by 2 people

    • I was hoping to hear how your quilting was coming along. It is never too late and especially for you. You are still quite healthy and you have a large family to gift those quilts to. I’m happy to hang them on these ugly walls and dress them up a bit. Something always cuts into my sewing time these days so hoping to snag some back soon. A friend talked me into joining her quilt group and then the classes started. That’s where the fun is. They are the nicest women and will generously help you in every way. I hope you have found such a group. I’m going to try again this summer, now that I’m settled…more or less. 🙂 Send pictures, please.

      Liked by 1 person

    • What a great story you have added, that you taught yourself to quilt just recently! My child Kellen taught themself to quilt during the early days of the pandemic, and has now made about six of them. You people (and Marlene and her friend Jan) are so inspiring. ❤

      Liked by 2 people

  11. Marlene, this is so inspiring! Jan is amazing, and her quilt is stunning. I am humbled to be included in your wonderful post. Thank you! Age has no boundaries, and frankly I think we get better with age.

    Liked by 1 person

    • It was my honor, Jennie. I’m so very impressed at what you do for all those children. I can just see many of them in their 90’s still being creative because of the start you gave them. My friend, Jan must have had a bit of that with parents that let her be herself. I’m always so inspired by others. I hope we get better as we age. Thanks for stopping by.

      Liked by 1 person

      • That’s so nice, Marlene. Thank you! I think you’re right about Jan’s parents (and perhaps her teachers.) Like you, I’m inspired by others, and feel we get better as we get older. Best to you, my friend.

        Like

  12. I love how you inspire each other so💕

    Liked by 1 person

  13. It really does work, Val. We are all in it together. Thanks for stopping by.

    Like

  14. Thanks for sharing this idea Marlene. Yes we are seniors too bur we live in the moment. Let’s follow our blogs Anita

    Like

  15. What a wonderful group of golden girls. I agree creativity is innate and knows no age limit.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, Cathy. I’ll put the Golden Girls moniker to them and see how they like it. The youngest is 63, I’m in the middle with 3 of them older. One has never done anything creative and we got her started at 85. She catches on quickly though. She is heading for 87 in the fall. It’s never too late to start.

      Like

  16. Hey Marlene – this is inspiring. I’ve heard the saying, “art doesn’t make mistakes.” Now, I need to convince myself that’s true. Take care, my friend!

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Creativity is never limited by age; the only limit is imposed by our physical capability. And even then, it can be redirected into less physical but equally rewarding channels. Love that you’re sewing again!

    Liked by 1 person

    • When I see someone overcome physical limitations and keep on going, I can’t stop pushing myself. The quilt was easy compared to the shirt that I’ve made a dozen times. It wants to make me work harder. I think I’d better make another right away. Making progress though. Keep taking care of yourself.

      Like

  18. You go girls! I love that you all have your thing. Quilting isn’t unlike paper making. Putting patterns and colours together in interesting ways. I love it all!

    Unless I lose a limb,(which isn’t entirely unlikely given my propensity for accidents 😁) I’ll probably continue to make paper things until I have used up every bit of the stash I’ve accumulated (likely never). My only dilemma is facing a downsizing, but you managed, so that’s inspiring.

    Be calm and craft on Vonderfrau! It’s an ageless endeavour 💗💗xK

    Liked by 3 people

    • I had my priorities in place when I downsized. I took the small bedroom to sleep in and the large one went for crafts. I could not live any smaller. Every square inch is saturated with stuff. I’ve given away all I care to and the rest will remain as long as I do. I gave away one whole bookcase full of books for goodness sake. That was painful. At least a dozen tubs of fabrics as well. Problem is, I love fabric and book stores just like you are fond of paper stores. Stuff just follows us home somehow! But 94 and still quilting is unfathomable to me. Who knows? I agree your paper art looks a great deal like my quilting art. And probably a lot less expensive. 😉 Hugs and love. M

      Liked by 2 people

      • LOL, next time Jim asks, “how can you possibly fit another thing in there”, I’ll threaten to start quilting 😁🥰

        Liked by 1 person

      • I’m cracking up here. 🙂 I wish you could see me laughing at this. I promise you and you have photos from my blog to show Jim what my master bedroom looks like. Most women fill their closet full of clothes. Mine has enough fabric to open a small store. Show him and watch him count his blessings. I have 3 machines set up and yes, I do use all three. I could use a full sized studio because the cutting table is now in the living room so I can cut out the pieces for the next 2 quilts. You can silence him totally. 🙂 I do what I can to help. Hugs.

        Liked by 1 person

  19. My trick for getting myself inspired is to move. When I’m sitting at my computer, I can easily stay put in the chair all day long. There are so many interesting things to find on the Internet that I could rationalize that I’m doing something. But it’s not usually creative (Unless I’m writing or blogging or building a photo book or something). I have to get up, walk around, start moving. I will wash dishes or go get the mail or clean off the table or dust the bookshelves, which leads me to another thing catching my eye and then often I will be reminded of a project I’ve been meaning to work on…and that is how I can get my butt in creativity mode.

    I am impressed by all the work you quilting ladies do. How neat that you were asked to make a label for Jan’s quilt. I am sure that it was an honor for you. I am so happy that you have a group of creators to spend time with and share project ideas with. Love you. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, Crystal. Does this mean you are home again and thinking of your next project? When I do all those things walking around, I call it procrastination. 🙂 I finally got my bottom to the chair yesterday by not leaving the house until I made huge progress on the shirt I’ve been working on all winter for H. In the final stage today. I promised myself I could not start on the next quilt until this was complete and in the mail. It’s very easy for me to find ways to put things off. When the ladies ask if I’m still working on the same embroidery, I know it’s time to step up the pace a bit. I want it in the mail too. Jan is the only other quilter in the bunch. The rest knit and crochet. I always take embroidery or handwork of some kind. There is plenty here to do. We meet this morning and I’ll be stitching the front plackets on her shirt by hand so I can follow with machine top stitching. I’ve hired someone to vacuum and mop for me so I have more time for the fun? stuff. 😉 Hugs.

      Liked by 1 person

      • ha ha. My next project right now is getting the house ready to sell. So many things to fix. And it’s springtime, so that means a ton of work outside. Yesterday three Mormon missionaries came over to work and we all busted our butts for two and a half hours and my big garden with the birdfeeder looks amazing! I’m happy to host those ladies again anytime. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • I remember doing that on a slightly smaller scale last time and much larger when I was married to the last husband. Glad I’m not Mormon. But I’d help you if I could. Have another health challenge so who knows how much I’ll be getting done even here. Have you decided what and where you are looking for?

        Liked by 1 person

  20. Fairy Qu33n said:

    Wow These quilts are wonderful. Many greeting from Italy. Here there’s nothing like that. I love your quilting 😍😍😍

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for stopping by. Quilting has been adopted in Australia and many parts of Europe. Maybe you haven’t found it yet. I’m getting ready to start two more this weekend. They do take a long time to complete though.

      Like

  21. I think when we stop being creative, and we stop actively learning new things, is when we really start dying.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I have a whole poem about that I found in a quilting magazine and copied it. I could send it to you if you are interested. I’m in full agreement. Thanks for stopping by.

      Like

  22. Dear Marlene… Oh what JOY this post brings as you gather in your creative circles of creativity, keeping the mind and hands active… So loved reading and meeting your friends.. And what wonderful creations too.. Your own included Marlene..
    I remember over on Jennies blog that wonderful Peace quilt too…
    I am so happy you followed your instincts as you just Had to Write my friend….
    Sending LOVE and Hugs over the ocean… and long may the buzz of your sewing class reverberate as you each create and chatter away…

    Much love Marlene.. Sue xx ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  23. first apologies, behind with reading again – and even more this past when sitting at the computer wasn’t happening.

    I agree creativity shouldn’t have to ever stop, unless something bad occurs to ones body and it’s not possible.

    I have spaces here, “ready 2 go” and if I want I “do”

    Liked by 1 person

    • I agree completely, Catherine. I also think we should start with creative engagement earlier. When I didn’t color inside the lines, I was told to stop doing anything. and didn’t even try again until my early forties. Our criteria for what is art keeps too many inside a box. I don’t get all my reading done either. No need for apologies.

      Liked by 1 person

  24. I’m not sure how I missed this post, Marlene. I love that you have a group of women that inspire and create, regardless of age and current ability. Those quilts are something else! Like you, I have so many things I want to do, though recently, gardening wins out. The heavy rain produced lots of weeds to pull, many blooms to cut or deadhead, and simply an excuse to be in the garden. I also want to write, to make cards, read, etc. Life is full.

    Like

  25. Under different circumstances, gardening would have won out for me too but you have a special gift in the garden this year. The extra rain just sent your garden over the top in the beautiful category. The rest can wait for the heat of the summer. I like to shine the spotlight on others as often as possible. Jennie starts the creativity in the young and Jan shines with the older group. The morning glories was in a bag of scraps another residents daughter was giving away. I rescued the panel and coordinating fabric, the rest went to another group of quilters that does strictly scrap quilts. That panel has lifted so many spirits around here that I’m glad I got it done. The one I’m working on now is not so simple. Sigh. Hugs and love. News soon, I hope.

    Like

  26. Beautiful, meaningful and heartwarming post, Marlene, to accompany the gorgeous and priceless quilt work. 🩶🙏🩶

    Liked by 1 person

  27. Stopping in to check on you! I no longer blog, but am enjoying my life. Perhaps I’ll find meaning in writing out loud again someday but for now I keep a journal. I’ll stop in again now and then when I have a chance.

    So glad to see you’re still at it and still looking for answers to life’s many questions.

    Love, Jean

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s likely that there will be few future blogs here. I’ll try to post when I get test results but until then, I’m not able to focus on much else. I’m delighted to hear from you, Jean, and know that all is well in your world. I’m reading as many blogs as I can and answering comments but this month has been all about stun mode. I have not posted anything. Keep enjoying your life. It’s never long enough. Thanks for the visit.

      Like

  28. Since you asked, my friend . . . I believe that the bodies we live in are what age; we ourselves never do. So creativity, to me, is one of our attributes and can be activated at any time and continued so long as we wish. I was taught from age two and have seen the women in my family go on being creative into their late 80s and even their 90s, so I find that reassuring. This past month I’ve begun doing some simple hand-stitching again (I made all my lovely long dresses in the 70s and 80s by hand – needle and thread, not by machine – and I was quite happy with my tiny even stitches. But disuse has rusted my skills somewhat and now I’m learning to be patient with myself as I re-learn what was once so easy.).

    I don’t go on Pinterest often, but have been engaging on Instagram more and more. Inspired by one woman in the UK I have begun a red flannel petticoat, which will come in handy next winter. Also a longer grey cotton dress / nightdress. And, inspired by another creative woman who makes skirts and pinafores in the UK, I am slowly laying in rows of stitches on 1/8″ squares of black and white cotton gingham. I will be gathering the gingham into two panels for smocking, something I’ve always wanted to learn.

    But enough of that for now. We’ve had temps here in the high 80s and low 90s for a couple of weeks, so the A/C was on. Then it dropped to the high 50s and low 60s and the heat was back again. A bit confusing, eh?

    You are one of the people who keep me moving forward; I am grateful for having found you and for your friendship.

    Your post, as always, is so inspiring! I love hearing about your life and the solutions you always seem to find. And about your friends in the new place, too. The morning glory fabric is so beautiful; what a find for you!

    Take care, Marlene; I think of you so often and wish I could pop by for a crafty visit and chat. Hugs to you . . .

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for stopping by, Linne. Been thinking about you too. I’ll send a note. As you can tell, I haven’t written a post in a month. That fabric among the all the scraps just yelled at me to make it up and hang it where all could enjoy. Another wanted to be done by now but life got in the way. Hugs.

      Liked by 1 person

  29. Thank you for your decision to follow Learning from Dogs. We have been communicating for so long I was surprised to realise that you were not already a follower. Anyway welcome!

    Liked by 1 person

RIGHT FROM YOUR HEART

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.