Looking for answers to life's questions

Round Three

Round Three

Is it round three or strike three? I’m not sure right now. It’s either round three of the assaults on my body or strike three and I’m out. First the most debilitating case of Bells Palsy that never left, then the IPF and now this.

Is this another attack on my body or another wake-up call to pay closer attention to how I’m treating it? I’m looking at this very carefully and deeply. Or is it my mind saying I’m tired and get ready to go home. I’m digging deep for the optimism.

Flowers help

I wrote those first two paragraphs a couple of weeks ago. More for myself than for a post. Decided to leave them here so you can see how my mind plays Ping-Pong with me. April 30th I found a lump while showering. May 3rd my PA had an early morning cancellation and I got in. By May 18th, I’d had a biopsy. Yes, it is cancer but I caught it very early. May 30th, I got the good news. It could probably be treated simply as a lumpectomy. Nothing else needed. I wasn’t looking for lumps when I found this. At my age, I had long ceased being concerned. Apparently, you are never too old to be concerned. Lesson learned. I am her ninth patient this year to come in with the exact same kind of breast cancer. She has lots of questions.

I will be getting an appointment with an oncologist in the coming weeks to come up with a plan of action. The month of May has been an tense one for me.

On the Saturday, May 27th, I was getting ready to go to breakfast with my son then on the farmers market for local honey. This has been a bad allergy season for those afflicted. He is, I’m not. Local honey is supposed to help especially if you take it before allergy season kicks in. Getting up from the couch, my foot caught the computer cable, turned me in an odd direction and I watched my foot twist with me as I went down in heap. Fortunately, nothing broke. Just a sprained foot and ankle that are now very bruised.  I hobbled to breakfast but the farmers market was going to be too much. I have to say the landing was perfect. Maybe the extra padding helped. I had just taken class 7 of 8 on “balance”. I’ll probably get a D-.

The only thing I accomplished this month was getting the Big-Shirt done minus buttonholes and pockets which will be completed when my daughter brings the buttons so I can get an exact fit and I can see where her hands fall for the pockets.

Big to go over another shirt

I’ve also completed the top of a Red/White & Blue quilt. I still have to piece the backing fabric but have finally decided how it will be done and the binding is all cut so it’s ready after I machine quilt it. Today was letter writing day and getting caught up on so many other things.

Top waiting to be sandwiched and quilted

In a nutshell, everything is going to be ok! I’m certain of it. I’m just being slowed down a bit.

Any new lumps and bumps in your life and how are you handling them?

Life isn’t smooth, but it’s the bumps that help us find out who we are. And it’s handling the bumps that gives us courage.Author: Sarah Morgan

From my heart to yours,

Marlene Herself

Comments on: "Round Three" (86)

  1. Hello Marlene – well, from my heart to yours > all the way from wintery Australia! Reading your words, I feel you’ll be OK . . . my ‘sentence’ arrived over 15 years ago . . . and I was older than you – two lumps over 2 cms in size in the same breast. Being lopsided actually has not bothered much . . . even tho’ there were complications! Life is too precious to become negative. And now I buy dishy clothes one size bigger!!! . . . And other matters DO come up . . . I have peripheral neuropathy in my feet so did not realize 6 months back I had broken the metatarsal bones in my right foot . . . yep, an awful nuisance still not fully fixed . . . BUT, Marlene, I have never ever appreciated or enjoyed life as much and I shall turn 88 next week !!! Living alone, being as busy as you, grinning when I see someone ‘complaining’ . . . ‘the best is yet to be’ > hugs Eha

    Liked by 4 people

    • You are 88, Eha? Amazing! We can learn a lot from your resilience.

      Liked by 2 people

    • Your comment makes my heart so happy, Eha. I was hoping to start a conversation with this post and it looks like I have. I knew I wasn’t alone in this new challenge but so far, fear has not come into the picture. I know I’ll be fine since I caught it so early. With IPF, I don’t know that I’ll see 80 but I count every day as a huge gift and want to use that gift wisely. I keep telling people I see that if you complain, the Universe gives you more to complain about thinking you are enjoying it. I allow myself 10 minutes on the pitty pot,, then have to get up and get on with it. I have no vanity attached to the outcome here. Thank you so much for joining in this conversation. I’m sorry to hear about the broken bones in your foot. That slows things down a lot. Caring hugs to you.

      Liked by 1 person

    • In my 50s, I am just a baby to you, but your message is so inspiring to me. I believe I took an extra long time to figure out how to live my best life, and now I’ve got a lot of things figured out. But I worry: how much time do I get to enjoy this? According to you and Marlene, plenty. It’s apparently the result of having a great attitude. Hugs. ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      • We were having a conversation at lunch yesterday about time. I’m with Albert Einstein. It’s relative and will expand and contract at will. How much time do you want? As long as you are wanting to take in the breath of life, you can expand time. I’d had second thoughts about that for awhile. Attitude IS everything. Stay happy, find your joy and just keep moving forward. Don’t look back often. The Universe only goes forward. You are doing a great job of life. Now you have a partner to share it with and it will only expand.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Marlene, this third obstacle – it seems not so daunting if your sewing efforts are anything to go by. You are so productive and inspire me to do more over here. I am not creating as much as writing lots. One writing job lead to another.

    I like the colours of your quilt. Are they intended to be the colours of the your flag?

    Liked by 2 people

    • You are right, Amanda. It’s not so daunting as it could be. I’m expecting the easiest outcome and so far, that’s what I’ve received. I’ll know more when I see the oncologist. Yes, the quilt is for our countries holidays. Didn’t get it done for Memorial day but hopefully well before independence day and Labor day. It’s a perky summer quilt to hang in the hall. I have a whole list of quilts waiting to be done. Don’t have time for that foolishness of cancer. 🙂 Just a bump in the road. Writing is what I want to be doing as well. I’ll get there soon. Thanks for the visit, Amanda. I’ll catch up soon.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. a blip in roadmap of health – an issue wasn’t expecting or needing to arrive on my doorstep – but I’m in the hands of my new doctor, who didn’t beat around the bush or say “it’s in your head” “or see a physio for a stretched something or other” – nope apparently I have a classic case – have just this morning started a trial med – with return to see her in a few weeks for assessment…

    And she added, “have you got a computer?” – look up and see what you can find? I said I looked at health navigator (NZ) and she seemed pleased. I’ve also looked at other regular medical sites…and most of it makes sense…

    I’m a little depressed, as my artmaking has taken a dive. But I shall attempt to get back on deck with it, slowly…and I’ve been to most of my actitivies

    I’m so sorry though to hear, you’ve more issues – which isn’t what either of us want or need. But love your upbeat message about it all…

    Liked by 2 people

    • I’m glad to hear you have someone new in your health corner, Catherine. I’ve been having a bit of trouble keeping up reading all the blogs I follow but today I will try and get a start on it between laundry and answering comments. I’ll get it all done at some point. Keep getting better.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Please, please, please make certain you are reading and following credible advice! I originally studied six years of medicine at the Sydney Uni . . . a lot on line may send you in the wrong direction!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I do not deal with this kind of online. I have a team with an oncologist working on a plan of action. In addition, I will make sure I’m eating better and continue to get extra weight off. Even after spraining my foot, I started walking again. I try for 2 miles a day.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I don’t know if “everything will be okay,” for any of us, or you. But this I do know this. You are a truly remarkable person Marlene. I am so happy you are my friend. But, I am even more impressed, and happy, that you have yourself for a friend, with your kind and creative mind. Love to you my friend.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thank you so much, Cindy. Optimism is a healing tool I plan to use. I’m a pragmatist so I fully understand what I’m facing. Being morose is counter productive, Thanks for being there, Cindy. It means a lot.

      Like

  6. Problems solved are the best kind…

    Liked by 1 person

  7. So sorry to read of all these inflictions, but well done on meeting them head on.You are truly inspirational. Here’s wishing you full recoveries, and the strength and courage required.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I’m sorry to read this Marlene, but I’m happy you discovered the lump. I’ll keep you in my prayers. xo

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I’m sorry for this series of setbacks and challenges and will hope for better days for you, your work is incredible beautiful

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, Beth. Everyone gets challenges, it’s how we handle the challenges. I choose an optimistic approach. I also want to open the conversation since I thought I was too old to be concerned about this. You are also never too young to be aware without adding fear to the mix.

      Liked by 1 person

  10. The shirt is gorgeous. The health news is less so. I wish you a successful lumpectomy, a speedy recovery, and a good pathologist’s report.

    Gee, Marlene, balance sure gets to be a major PIA as we age. Last month I had a full “face plant” while cleaning up in the yard, so I really get threatening the issue to those of us who are independent and happy about it. I’m not sure that there is one solution. But I’ve been working on upper body strength to leverage myself.

    Hope everything goes well.

    Liked by 3 people

    • I’m so happy to hear from you here, Lou. Thank you on the shirt. It’s like a quilt with cutting apart and putting back together and that it’s flannel . It’s my last one . I’ve made 7 of them now.
      I’m sure the treatment will be successful when we get it decided and scheduled.
      I’ve done the faceplant and wrote a post about it about 3 or 4 years ago. I tripped over the handle of a shovel in the yard and couldn’t see it. I’ve had a balance issue left from Bells Palsy. Considering the issue, I’ve done remarkably well in staying upright. I thought it would be the 50 ft of cannula that is constantly getting tangled around my feet rather than the computer cord that would bring me down.
      I do live alone but the kind of complex I live in makes it safe in so many ways. There is always someone close enough that if I need help, it will arrive quickly. I had to look at so many options but when all was said and done, in my own unique and peculiar circumstance, this works best for me. Everyone gets to figure it out for themselves. I hated giving up my house but it was best for me. I’ve seen many who could not get themselves off the floor. So far, I’m golden in this department. I still do yoga which helps so much. Upper body strength is essential. Keep up with it.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Lou, I ditto you on the gorgeous shirt! It’s just wonderful.

      Like

  11. I’m sorry to hear you’ve had a health setback, but your spirits are high to work through it and come out the other side. Sending healing thoughts your way for a full and speedy recovery.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Oh, my friend. You are certainly sent more than your fair share of battles to fight. From personal experience, much depends on the type of cancer it is (triple negative, double positive, etc). This will decide the nature and scope of the treatment they offer. As will you. You are *absolutely* entitled to decide if you do not wish to go through chemo if the results are going to be moderate at best. Quality of life on chemo is not great and it can and often does have long lasting and far reaching effects. Personally, I’m glad I had it, nearly 12 years on. It gave me that extra layer of treatment which seems to have paid off, and I hope to attain your years disease free. My mother, on the other hand, decided to refuse chemo, had surgery, hormone and radiotherapy, and got 6 good years, years which would not have been so comfortable had she accepted chemo. Never forget you have options. Also never allow a doctor to browbeat you into ‘new, experimental’ treatments if you are not entirely convinced they will improve your life. You are in charge. It may seem at times that the disease is, but it’s not so. Your life may end up being a tiny bit shorter, but you can decide how you plan to live it in these later years. I’m sending you all the positive thoughts I can must, selectively positioned hugs and all the support I can offer. Hugs, dear friend. There is life after breast cancer. Some of it is pretty damn amazing!

    Liked by 5 people

  13. I see the very practical and forthright Marlene in this post. We handle what comes our way given our viewpoints and the options in front of us, get to it and move on. I know you could have kept all this private but I’m glad you wrote about this. You know a bit of sympathy and understanding takes a bit of the struggle out of the bumps in life. I love your humor regarding the balance class! Take care dear friend. I will be thinking of you and thankfully May is behind you. Here’s to a sunny, easier, happier June!

    Liked by 2 people

    • I thought hard about keeping it to myself but wanted to open a conversation in case someone doesn’t realize the self exam at any age can have benefits. Even though I wasn’t intentionally checking for that, I’m grateful to have had the insight to take it seriously and see how quickly the medical system responded to my need. I have never been able to get appointments so quickly! Now I wait to see what my options are. Soon, I hope. Crossing my fingers for June and remaining upright. 🙂 Support, even from a community you can’t see, is still support. Valuable in all aspects of life. Stay well and happy. I’ll pop by to see how your naughty neighbors are doing. I read but didn’t get a chance yet to comment. Hugs.

      Liked by 2 people

  14. Big hugs, Marlene. I am so happy to read that it was caught so early. As I always tell you, you are my inspiration and I respect you deeply. As for me, I’m doing pretty good for the shape that I’m in. 😉 Like you, I allow myself about 10 minutes of a pity party then shake it off and march forward with a smile and a joke. I’m working to get my blog going again about my new journey. Hoping it might comfort someone else down the road. Love from me to you! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’ve sent a note this week, Jackie. Holding you in my prayers too. I say that all the time, that I’m in pretty good shape for the shape I’m in. Just remember, I was supposed to be dead over 5 years ago so you can make liars out of the doctors too. Load your life with laughter and as much joy as you can squeeze out of it. Having you back here will certainly help someone else. You never know who will need you today. It always made me happy to see you pop up here. Keep hanging in there. Sam needs you to do that and your cats too. Love and hugs, m

      Liked by 1 person

      • Thank you, Marlene. Yeah, I’m hoping to publish my blog by this weekend, we’ll see how I do. 😉 How did you send me that note? I haven’t received an email from you as of yet, so just wondering. I have always looked forward to your posts, too. They are so upbeat and positive no matter what you are going through. I am hanging in there for as long as possible. Some days though, whew, that can be rough. But, I’m a tough old broad and stubborn. lol Love and hugs right back at you, my friend.

        Like

      • Snail mail, Jackie. Snail mail. 😉 I finally found a therapist yesterday. It’s essential when going through this stuff. Medicare makes it hard to find someone we can afford but it’s worth it. There is a grieving process we are going through that many don’t recognize since we are still alive. I slept well last night but my eyes don’t want to stay open even 4 hours after waking. There is stuff we just don’t tell anyone else. But you can tell me. I get the Whew!

        Liked by 2 people

  15. I sure hope that your health improves, Marlene! My wife had all kinds of debilitating illnesses when she was alive. And i worked with the multiply handicapped as a teacher, and i saw much suffering. I had students with normal IQs who were quadriplegic. But we got them to smile (and that’s what is sweet and magical). 😉

    Like

    • Thank you so much for your kind comment, Tom. I’m obviously a little scattered, mentally these days thinking I had already replied when I had not. I know of several good men who cared for their wives during difficult health challenges and deeply admire that strong quality. It’s not as common as it could be. I have a strong online support system as well as my grown children and a few new friends where I now live. Attitude is the thing that gets us through all of life’s challenges. It’s the one choice we have no matter what comes our way and I choose to face it without fear, expecting a positive outcome. Physically challenged youngsters can truly soften the heart when you see them rise to what life has bestowed. We can learn so much from them. Thanks for stopping by, Tom.

      Like

  16. Marlene, I realise you may not always feel like this on the inside but you come across to this reader, if not all of them, as one strong cookie. Your optimism and inner strength must be pushed to their limits but there’s still no way that the ropes are going to snap. You are amazing. You’ll get through this crappy time with your sense of humour intact, and with help of love and support from your family and friends.
    PS. and ditto everything that Kate said.
    xxx in my thoughts xxx

    Liked by 4 people

    • It’s so good to hear from you, Jill. I miss your posts so much. Attitude is the most important ingredient in healing or life in general. I’ve learned that fear impedes both so I just find the funny parts and go with it. The body responds to attitude. People may think me unhinged because I can laugh at such serious events. Whatever happens, I’ll keep looking for the pony in this pile of manure. There is always a gift hiding in there. Let me know how you are doing. Thanks for stopping by. Love and hugs.

      Like

  17. Marlene, you are the poster child for “If life gives you lemons, make lemonade.” I’m in my 70’s, so breast cancer seems remote. Now I know better. Thank goodness you caught it early. Please know I’m thinking of you, and I send you my very best. ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

    • And there you go, Jennie. That’s exactly why I posted this instead of keeping to myself. I’ll be 75 in a few months. I was listening to a book by a 102 year old doctor who got it at 90 and is still here. They said I must be very in tune with my body to find it this small which give me an edge. I’m sure this will have a good outcome. It’s just a lot of waiting for appts. Not how I wanted to spend my summer. My next appt is in 2 weeks so I have time to finish the quilt and maybe one more project first. Thanks for the good thoughts. I’ll keep you posted.

      Liked by 3 people

  18. Oh sweet Marlene, what a good thing to catch this early. I’m so sorry you’ll have to endure the uncertainty until it’s well in the rearview mirror. Gentle hugs sent your way. Life sure throws out the curve balls when you least expect it.
    Sorry to hear you took a spill too! Good grief my friend, are we in some kind of crazy competition to see who can get injured first? LOL, I’m so flippin’ accident prone. While it sounds like a shocking ordeal, I’m glad it wasn’t worse!
    So it looks like you got a good bit of projects done too. Beautiful work as always. I’ve just bought 1/4 yards of several fabrics to quilt some little pencil/makeup cases. I saw this gal on Instagram was making them. They were so so cute but $40 ea. No doubt worth it. Fabric has really gotten expensive, you’re probably a thousandaire! ha! Anywho, I thought I’d give them a whirl. So I’m now an official fabric collector, LOL, poor Jim! Sending hugs! 💛K

    Liked by 1 person

    • You always make me laugh, Kelly. I knew you would eventually become a fabric collector since it’s so clearly connected to your paper crafts. I’m so glad I have so much fabric that was purchased when the prices were low because it is getting more expensive at leaps and bounds. At least double what it was 10 years ago.

      There were 4 women here this last week that fell last week. I was the least injured. Of course we are older which predisposes us. I’m lucky that I fell well. I did that face plant 4 or 5 years ago when I tripped over a shovel. My new glasses had the incorrect prescription. That was and ugly fall but nothing broken. This is my first fall and I’m going to keep computer cords better tucked away. Life is filled with uncertainty and I’m sure I’ll come out of this well.
      Keep staying healthy and happy. Love and hugs.

      Liked by 1 person

  19. Sending LOTS and lots of gentle hugs your way 💕

    Like

    • Thank you so much, Erin. There seems to be a rash of it in my area. It raises so many questions. I’m sure I’ll be fine but there are so many that haven’t been so lucky.

      Like

  20. Marlene, I’m glad you shared your news for your readers, as it is so important for others to know what’s possible. I’m sorry you have cancer, but I’m relieved to hear that you found it early, got immediate care, and that you’ve got a plan in place.

    Your projects are stunning. Did H choose the fabric for the shirts or did you? I haven’t sewn a shirt since high school or just beyond. There are so many pieces, and so many steps. I like your red, white, and blue quilt. I’m sending love and a hug your way.

    Liked by 1 person

    • We were together when we saw the material. The big shirt pattern I have came to mind and I suggested I make one for her. I’m a glutton for punishment. So much is involved in the cutting apart of the pattern and putting it back together with decorative stitching and size adjusting. Finally, I think it’s right. Soft winter flannel will look perfect on her. Those are her colors. RW&B will be sandwiched tomorrow then quilted by me. I have 2 smaller projects waiting, then several more on the list. I wanted to share this because I’m not alone going this kind of thing. So many have already been down that road and I’ll take all the support I can got. Another former blogger just found out she has mesothelioma cancer. So many have their own stories to share. The projects are helping me stay positive. Next appt June 19 with oncology. Wow! Never thought I’d be thinking about this. I’m the 9th patient with this in 5 months! Hmmm. Something is going on here. Love and hugs back to you. Thanks so much for all your support.

      Like

  21. As a cancer survivor myself, your positivity will help you navigate this blip as you continue to live a very full life (quilting/sewing/enjoying flowers), I love that you have a letter writing day (I call days like this my catching up on correspondence days!). You are loved and I wish you all the best with a full recovery resulting in wellness and good health…

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for all your good wishes and your visit. Attitude is everything. So says the sign on my wall and I plan to live by it. It’s the one thing we can control when everything else is out of our control. I do a lot of letter writing to keep the post office in business. 🙂 When I hear from those of you who have gone through what I never expected to face, I’m always grateful for the encouragement. Because I already have a “terminal” illness, I was not even sure they would treat me for this. But somehow, we are pressing forward with the expectation of full recovery. I’m hanging onto that thought. I’ll keep you posted.

      Liked by 1 person

  22. caroline reay said:

    Aw, that’s a lot of rough luck, hope it all works out. The one positive about getting older is that cancers are generally slow to progress. Take care and keep writing

    Liked by 1 person

  23. “My next appointment is in two weeks so I have time to finish the quilt.” THIS is what’s keeping you on top, Marlene. You are incorrigible. I echo the first Jill, and I’m so glad you found the lump. Glad that you are so in tune with your body that you were able to find it early. It eases my heart to know where you live; that there are folks there who care about you and will be happy to help, or to notice your moods and behavior. I’m also glad that they are there for you to love, because you need people to love. Also having your son just down the road is excellent. Your bare honesty is a never ending inspiration too. Thank you, Marlene, for sharing the hard parts of your life with us. Each of us can take a different thing from your words, and I’m sure we each do. Here’s hoping the lumpectomy goes smoothly and quickly.

    You said that this big shirt is your last; may I have your pattern? Kellen would LOVE this kind of shirt. I’ll either try to make one for them, or just give them the pattern. OK, if you read my email yesterday (I haven’t looked at email yet today), you’ll know that today is a big day for us. We got a late night text from our realtor that the offer was probably going to be accepted. So it’s not certain, but looks good that today we can begin to think of it as our new home. I am a little astonished at how good my life is, compared to its bleakness a decade ago. But people like you and me have earned a good life, so I’m not sorry. I can do this gift justice by humility and gratitude, and looking for others to help.

    Liked by 2 people

    • I will send on the pattern to you shortly. You have to make the actual pattern yourself but I will include what you need. Yes, it will be my last. My vision makes so many things harder than they were. I am holding out hope that you have found the perfect fit in a home. It will happen easily if it’s right. My house is back on the market too. She’s not having as much luck as I did. I loved my place but glad I let it go. Life is so much easier in so many ways now. We all have lumps to go through so the sweet things are even sweeter. I’ll keep you posted. Sending buckets of love and hugs. M

      Liked by 1 person

      • oh my goodness, your house is being sold again already? That seems sad to me. It was a good house for you.

        Liked by 1 person

      • She has to go take care of her mother but selling is not going as well for her as it did for me. How did your house thing work out? I’ve been on pins and needles. Will pack up the shirt pattern and send shortly or later, depending on your move arrangement. 😉

        Liked by 1 person

  24. Oh Marlene! That’s a lot of stuff to take in all at once. I just finished my routine mammogram a few minutes ago. How you handle everything thrown at you is inspiring. Take care, my friend. 😘

    Liked by 1 person

    • I had not had a mammogram for over 10 years. With a terminal diagnosis, already, I didn’t see the point. Finding that lump was an eye opener. I’m hoping for an easy extraction. Keep up those mammograms. You never know how late in life you might need one. Handling things is what I do best.. 🙂 How are you doing and where are you now? Hugs, m

      Liked by 1 person

      • Mine came back all good yesterday, of which I’m grateful.

        Right now we’re in Bend for our grandson’s high school graduation. We bought a home in Green Valley, AZ just south of Tucson. It’s currently being remodeled. We anticipate moving in the end of June. I can’t wait!

        Continue handling things, and take care 🙏🏻😘

        Liked by 1 person

      • Glad to hear about the good mammo, Missy. It would help if I were back to my tiny self but that hasn’t happened yet. 😦 You do like it warm, don’t you. Tucson can be warm indeed but winters are heavenly, I’m sure. Crossing my fingers you get into your home this month.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Thanks, Marlene! 😎

        Liked by 1 person

  25. Dear Marlene, my dear Marlene, what a bummer! Cancer, that terrible news that afflicts so many. It is never far from my mind as my father died of lung cancer albeit many years ago, back in 1956 when I had just turned 12, but nevertheless it was the dreaded C.
    Sending you all our love. ❤️ Paul and Jean ❤️❤️❤️

    Like

    • Thank you for the kind thoughts, Paul and Jean. I’m expecting a successful lumpectomy with nothing more required. 12 is too young to lose a father but I do know many that did. It changes who you are in the world. Hoping you and Jean are holding your own with your own health concerns. Getting old can be quite the challenge. Love and hugs to you both. M.

      Like

  26. Oh Marlene.. Sending you loads of love and healing thoughts dear friend.. I hope your Surgery goes okay, I am sure it will…. So many seem to be falling ill with reoccurring problems or new ones cropping up..
    How is your foot healing…. I hope since you wrote this you are able to walk better now.

    Sorry I too have been caught up in life and Living.. And TIME well, that is something else… And those in White coats don’t know everything, and we know only too well how Mind over Matter works. So I am sure you have told your friend your own story and not to put time limits on herself..

    My sister as you know is fighting Leukaemia, and now has lumps and bumps also.. But she is like you, takes each day as it comes, finds joy in every moment and laughs at what life has thrown her way.. As she beat breast cancer 30 years ago with a mastectomy.. So Keep on making those wonderful garments.. Love the shirt, and WOW to that Quilt Marlene… Just beautiful…

    I am sending you tons of Hugs and Much Love Marlene…. I know you will come out the other side of this.. Your Humour is also a healing frequency in itself Marlene…
    You are one beautiful Lady.. And your quote sums it up beautifully. Sending LOVE dear Marlene.. ❤ ❤ ❤ xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    • We have so much to do that we don’t have time to succumb to terminal illnesses. Lynn McTaggart’s book on the power of 8 will be my next blog focus. I loved that book. That’s all it takes. I will add your sister to my list. I’m going to get the binding on my quilt this morning so I can start hand stitching it to the back. I have to make a sleeve for hanging and a label maybe this afternoon after our knit wits sewing group. The next one is already on the table waiting to be cut and pieced back together. 🙂 I wouldn’t mind a mastectomy at all but doubt they will go that far. See oncologist on the 19th. I’m ready to have this behind me and move on. I’ll see you soon. Hugs and love.

      Liked by 2 people

  27. If anyone can bounce back, it’s you, Marlene! Sending you lots of healing vibes and love!

    Like

    • This is actually Bethany @ Finding Home. I forgot to login to that account. Now you know my super-secret alter ego! Lol

      Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks so much for stopping by, Bethany. This last month has been like running a marathon with my feet tied together. I will beat this. That is my intention and I’m sticking to it. I’ll post an update shortly. Having a hard time keeping up with everything lately. Hope you are still doing well.

      Liked by 1 person

  28. Hi Marlene. Apparently I missed this post and did not realize until I read your current one today so I had to go back and catch up. Here you are faced with a challenge and yet always with a great attitude! You certainly have been given the gift of encourager to others. Love the shirt. Did you get the pockets placed yet? I am going to skip ahead to your current post. So sorry for the delay.

    Liked by 1 person

    • No worries about the delay, Jan. I may never catch up here and that quilt really slowed my writing and reading down. The pockets on my daughter’s shirt will be placed when she comes for a visit the first of September. I want to see where her hands fall and she has the buttons so I want to test the button holes before I put them on the shirt. I can’t imagine not being optimistic. That could be so grim. Thanks for the visit.

      Like

  29. Dear friend, I meant to comment some time ago, but life keeps moving on and I didn’t come back and do that.

    I’m sorry to hear of more challenges for you to deal with, but deal with them I know you will! I have a friend about your age who was diagnosed in 1998, did the lumpectomy, radiation and chemo; she’s still with us, beautiful as ever and living her best life. 25 years!! I agree with you that Attitude is Everything!

    I’m glad you are sharing your journey, the bumps as well as the smooth bits in the road. You never know who will be helped, inspired or comforted by your example and words.

    So far as ‘terminal’ goes, in a sense we are all terminal, as death is the one sure thing right from the beginning. I just watched “Patch Adams” on prime and he had your attitude, I feel. Now I’m ready to re-watch a fantastic documentary on netflix, “Living Proof”, by a young indie film director from Calgary, Alberta. He has really inspired me with his healing journey, as the principles he uses can be applied to any health challenge. Check it out if you have time. I think he would resonate with you . . .

    Creativity is a wonderful antidote to so many types of challenge, don’t you find? That and your positivity. Thanks for helping keep the bar so high; that’s good for us all.

    Now I’m on to your latest post. I’d recommend a cup of KOKO (Keep On Keeping On), but I think you already have that one covered.

    Much love and warm hugs (in spite of the summer heat, warm hugs are just the thing) to you. ~ Linne

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m not sure if I’ve watched the documentary :Living Proof but have seen many like it. I found it on Prime as it’s not on NetFlix anymore. Things are looking up here. Looks like my mother has had her hand in the mix. Yesterday was the anniversary of her death 22 years ago and I got an appt for surgery yesterday afternoon after seeing the surgeon in the morning. They found another small spot on the MRI and will try to get that too. I don’t get radiation or chemo due to the lungs. I’m grateful. I’ll just plug along as long as possible. I think I’ll have that cuppa Koko now. Love that. Life is an adventure and it’s not fun if it’s all smooth sailing. I’m finally catching my breath. Hugs and love, M

      Like

    • Linne, I have seen the documentary. Just watched the promo for it and it has been taken down from Prime too. They are trying to squash him from spreading the word that there is hope without a pill. You can buy the documentary but that’s the only way to see it now. Glad I saw it when I did. It’s what I’m trying to do now is clean up my food. Hugs. m

      Like

  30. Marlene, I am catching up with your posts and will continue reading, but stopping here to send huge hugs from Phoenix. XO

    Liked by 1 person

RIGHT FROM YOUR HEART

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.